Did Russell Westbrook deserve the 10th assist of his triple double last night?

David Astramskas, David AstramskasAbout the Author
Aka VincentDa & RedApples fka Expiredpineapples. My alter-ego is a digital-marketing guy in Houston. Won editing awards & created obsolete flash websites that have been featured in mags like Sports Illustrated. Studied film & women at FSU during the golden age of hip-hop. Collects records, laserdiscs, sports memorabilia & toys. Father of 2 daughters that are more athletic and popular on YouTube.

| May 8th, 2014 | 6,275 Views

Over the years, we have seen some real cheap triple doubles. The first that comes to mind is Orlando’s Anthony Bowie calling a timeout so he could get an assist. Pistons coach Doug Collins was so angry that he told his players not to play defense and looked as if he wanted to punch AB when Bowie tried to approach him.

Over the years, we have also seen quite a few players so desperate for a triple double that they were willing to shoot on thier own basket for a rebound (Ricky Davis) or even ask the opposing team to let them have a rebound (Andray Blatche).

The latest cheap triple double is credited to Russell Westbrook but unlike past cases, he and his teammates can’t be blamed for it.

With a little over a minute to play in OKC’s win over LA in GM2, Westbrook, who played a great game, threw the ball to Thabo in the corner. Thabo played around for a second and then drove in for a layup and the scorekeeper thought it was good enough for an assist which gave Westbrook a triple double.

It’s too bad Kevin Durant (32/10/9) didn’t make a pass in the final minute that led to a bucket anytime during that final minute because I’m sure he would have also been given a triple double.

According to the NBA Rule book, this is what qualifies as an assist,

An assist is a pass that directly leads to a basket. This can be a pass to the low post that leads to a direct score, a long pass for a layup, a fast break pass to a teammate for a layup, and/or a pass that results in an open perimeter shot for a teammate. In basketball, an assist is awarded only if, in the judgement of the statistician, the last player’s pass contributed directly to a made basket. An assist can be awarded for a basket scored after the ball has been dribbled if the player’s pass led to the field goal being made.

I don’t have any video of Bowie’s triple double but I did come across this pretty bizarre interview with him.


Back to Top ↑