Spurs GM R.C. Buford wins first NBA Executive of the Year award

David Astramskas David AstramskasAbout the Author
Aka VincentDa & RedApples fka Expiredpineapples. My alter-ego is a digital-marketing guy in Houston. Won editing awards & created obsolete flash websites that have been featured in mags like Sports Illustrated. Studied film & women at FSU during the golden age of hip-hop. Collects records, laserdiscs, sports memorabilia & toys. Father of 2 daughters that are more athletic and popular on YouTube.

| May 8th, 2014 | 953 Views


San Antonio Spurs general manager R.C. Buford has been named the 2013-2014 NBA Executive of the Year.

Buford, who has led the Spurs to three championships as the team’s GM, won the award for the first time. San Antonio compiled an NBA-best 62-20 record — winning at least 50 games for the 15th consecutive season — despite not having a single player average 30 minutes or finish in the top 10 in MVP voting. Instead, Buford constructed a balanced, deep roster that ranked in the top 10 in offensive and defensive efficiency.

After a disappointing loss in Game 7 of the 2013 NBA Finals, many skeptics believed that the veteran Spurs would take a step back this season. But Buford’s ability to add supporting pieces like Marco Belinelli and re-sign Tiago Splitter and Manu Ginobili was enough to sustain the Spurs’ top-level success.

Buford received nine first-place votes from a panel of team executives and finished ahead of Phoenix’s Ryan McDonough and Portland’s Neil Olshey. Here’s the complete voting:


Tags: , , ,

Back to Top ↑