Happy 70th Birthday to the Zen Master – Phil Jackson

David Astramskas David AstramskasAbout the Author
Aka VincentDa & RedApples fka Expiredpineapples. My alter-ego is a digital-marketing guy in Houston. Won editing awards & created obsolete flash websites that have been featured in mags like Sports Illustrated. Studied film & women at FSU during the golden age of hip-hop. Collects records, laserdiscs, sports memorabilia & toys. Father of 2 daughters that are more athletic and popular on YouTube.

| September 17th, 2015 | 1,343 Views


11 rings as a coach. 2 rings as a player. 3 rings in total!

Nothing else needs to be said.  Well, actually there is one fact about one of the greatest coaches of all-time that always amuses me.  Phil Jackson has only won Coach of the Year once (96).  That means Avery Johnson, Sam Mitchell, Mike Brown, Scott Brooks, Doc Rivers and Byron Scott all have as many NBA Coach of the Year awards as the Zen Master.  But that award means nothing when it comes to the legacy of the greatest coaches ever because Red Auerbach, Red Holzman and Lenny Wilkens have only won the award once and Chuck Daly and Jack Ramsey have never won it.




Back to Top ↑