Anthony Davis Agrees to Richest Contract in NBA History

David Astramskas, David AstramskasAbout the Author
Aka VincentDa & RedApples fka Expiredpineapples. My alter-ego is a digital-marketing guy in Houston. Won editing awards & created obsolete flash websites that have been featured in mags like Sports Illustrated. Studied film & women at FSU during the golden age of hip-hop. Collects records, laserdiscs, sports memorabilia & toys. Father of 2 daughters that are more athletic and popular on YouTube.

| July 1st, 2015 | 10,353 Views

Congrats to Anthony Davis on his new 6 year deal with the Pelicans which is worth more than any other contract in NBA history – yes even more than Kobe’s $136.4 deal he signed back in 2004!  The extension is worth a reported $145 million over the next 5 years and will start during the 2016/17 season which is also when the NBA’s $24 billion TV deal starts and the NBA salary cap will increase.

With all that new money coming, maybe Davis can get that uni brow trimmed a little. Actually, from a branding standpoint, that uni brow is worth more than a NBA minimum contract and the most accepted and recognizable one since Tupac.


It seems just like yesterday to me when Derrick Coleman wanted to become the first $100 million player and 1994 #1 NBA Draft pick Glenn Robinson was asking for $100 million coming out of college. Then in 1996 the Miami Heat made Juwan Howard the first $100 million offer but the NBA told them they need to check their accounting numbers and rejected the deal. Later that week the Bullets made Howard the first $100 million man with a 7-year $105 million deal. Right after that every big man and their mother wanted and got $100 million.

Here’s the top 10 richest deals made since then and when Anthony Davis’ signs his new offer he will be at the top of this list.

  • Kobe Bryant: $136.4 million, 7 years (2004-11)
  • Jermaine O’Neal: $126.6 million, 7 years (2003-10)
  • Kevin Garnett: $126 million, 6 years (1999-2005)
  • Rashard Lewis: $126 million, 6 years (2007-13)
  • Carmelo Anthony: $124.1 million, 5 years (2014-19)
  • Joe Johnson: $123.7 million, 6 years (2010-2016)
  • Chris Weber: $122.7 million, 7 years (2001-2008)
  • Tim Duncan: $122 million, 7 years (2003-10)
  • Shaquille O’Neal: $120 million, 7 years (1996-2003)
  • Chris Bosh: $118 million, 5 years (20014-2019)





Back to Top ↑