WNBA stars A'ja Wilson, Jewell Loyd and Natasha Cloud headline Ruffles NBA All-Star celebrity game

This year's celebrity all-star game includes several high-prolific names in the coaching, roster slots and broadcast team.

(Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

On Wednesday morning, the NBA announced the 2024 Ruffles All-Star Celebrity player rosters and coaches. Hang onto your seat, because this year's contest is filled with a diverse group of individuals, ranging from current athletes to professionals in other fields such as chefs, musicians, and film industry figures.

The Ruffles celebrity game is just one of the many events that will take place during the eventful weekend. Also, it's not the first All-Star weekend that will feature a collaboration with the WNBA. It takes me back to the 2 Ball Competition, where members of the NBA and WNBA were paired in a shooting competition during All-Star weekend in 1998, 2000, 2001. As the WNBA continues its growth, this opportunity only expands the discoverability and expansion of women's sports.

The head coaches include First Take co-hosts Stephen A. Smith and Shannon Sharpe. Sharpe, who joined ESPN last fall, will mesh well with Smith. Notorious for fun arguments on air, the two analysts will bring both knowledge of the game and comedic relief. Sharpe is also a Pro Football Hall of Famer, who played 14 seasons as a tight end in the NBA. The Duo will be amusing, and certainly captivating to watch.


Furthermore, NFL Hall of Famer Peyton Manning will join forces with Grammy Award recording artist Curtis Jackson (50 Cent), as featured coaches on team Shannon. On the opposing side, 2x WNBA Champion and 2x WNBA MVP A'ja Wilson will serve as a coach for team Stephen A. In addition, 5x Grammy award winning recording artist Lil Wayne will also serve as a coach for Stephen A. It will be fun to especially watch Wilson collaborate with Stephen A.

Aside from the Steph Curry and Sabrina Ionescu three-point showdown, the celebrity game will feature two WNBA players, who will be on opposing teams.

2x WNBA Champion and 5x WNBA All-Star Jewell Loyd will join 'Team Shannon.' Newly signed Phoenix Mercury guard and WNBA Champion Natasha Cloud, will join 'Team Stephen A.' Both Loyd and Cloud are ballers and will be fun to watch head-to-head at the guard position.

This year, the court will look different from years past. Appealing to fans and spectators, the hard wood will be LED themed, featuring several animations. Once again, the 4-point line will return, along with several in game challenges.

Team Shannon

  • Micah Parsons (2x First-Team All-Pro linebacker for the Dallas Cowboys)
  • Quincy Isaiah (Former football player and actor: Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty)
  • Conor Daly (IndyCar Series Racer)
  • Jewell Loyd (2x WNBA Champion, guard for the Seattle Storm)
  • Kai Cenat (Online streamer and YouTuber)
  • Dylan Wang (Actor)
  • Lilly Singh (Emmy Award-winning entertainer)
  • SiR (Singer and song writer, Grammy Award-nominated recording artist)
  • Walker Hayes (Country singer and song writer, Grammy Award-nominated recording artist)
  • Anuel AA (Latin American Music Award-winning recording artist)
  • Coaches: Shannon Sharpe, Peyton Manning, 50 Cent

Team Stephen A

  • Jennifer Hudson (Grammy Award winning singer, actress, producer, and talk show host, youngest female EGOT winner)
  • Tristan Jass (Basketball entertainer, social media star, content creator)
  • Jack Ryan (Basketball entertainer)
  • Metta World Peace (Former NBA Champion and 2004 Defensive Player of the Year)
  • AJ McLean (Founding member of the Backstreet Boys, singer, Grammy Award-nominated recording artist)
  • Kwame Onwuachi (James Beard Award-winning chef).
  • Natasha Cloud (WNBA Champion, guard for the Phoenix Mercury)
  • Adam Blackstone (Grammy Award-nominated musician)
  • CJ Stroud (Pro Bowl Quarterback for the Houston Texans)
  • Gianmarco Tamberi (Olympic High Jump Champion)
  • Coaches: Stephan A. Smith, A'ja Wilson, Lil Wayne

In addition to the epic rosters and coaches, the broadcast team will feature several talented and well-known analysts. The broadcast lineup includes:

  • Host for the game and M.V.P trophy presentation, and player/coach interviews: Cassidy Hubbarth of ESPN
  • Play-by-play commentary: Ryan Rucco, Richard Jefferson, and Monica McNutt.
  • Special guest: Pat McAfee

The special event will take place on Friday, Feb. 16 at 7 p.m. ET, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. It will air on ESPN and the ESPN App.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *